Former Governor Amosun Joins 2023 Presidential Race

Former Governor Amosun Joins 2023 Presidential Race

By Doyin Ajayi | Sub-Editor on April 27, 2022
Ogun State Governor Ibikunle Amosun
Ibikunle Amosun, former Ogun State Governor

The All Progressives Congress, APC, list of presidential aspirants continues to rise despite the N100 million put on the sale of the presidential form.

The latest entrant is Senator Ibikunle Amosun, a former governor of Ogun State and chairman Senate Committee on Capital Market. He declared his intention to contest the 2023 presidential race on the floor of the senate today. He promised that the formal declaration would take place on May 5 at the Musa Yar’Adua Centre in Abuja.

As of the last count, there are eleven aspirants for the APC presidential ticket. They include; Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, ex-Lagos Governor Bola Tinubu, Ebonyi Governor, Dave Umahi, Kogi Governor Yahaya Bello, Ekiti Governor Kayode Fayemi, Cross River Governor Ben Ayade, Minister of Transportation Rotimi Amaechi, Minister of Labour and Employment, Chris Ngige, Senators Rochas Okorocha, Orji Uzor Kalu and Amosun.

There are strong indications that ex-President Goodluck Jonathan may also declare his intention to contest the 2023 presidency on the platform of the APC. He has been rumoured to be the preferred choice of President Muhammadu Buhari.

Two governors also contesting the presidency – Bauchi governor Bala Mohammed of PDP and the Cross River Governor Professor Ben Ayade of APC have said they would shelve their presidential aspirations if Jonathan is also contesting too.

Meanwhile, Amosun announcement to contest the 2023 presidency was contained in a letter read by Senate President Ahmad Lawan at plenary.

Amosun is the third Senator of the APC extraction to join the presidential race.

Senators Rochas Okorocha and Orji Uzor Kalu had earlier announced their bid for the presidency.


Leave a Comment

To leave a comment anonymously, simple write your thoughts in the comments box below and click the ‘post comment’ button.