Buhari Sacks JAMB Boss, 16 Others Education Agencies, Appoints Replacements

Buhari Sacks JAMB Boss, 16 Others Education Agencies, Appoints Replacements

By Doyin Ajayi | Sub-Editor on August 2, 2016
Nigeria's President Muhammadu Buhari
Nigerian President Muhammadu Buhari addresses reporters before working lunch with Secretary Kerry With U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry at the U.S. Department of State in Washington, D.C., on July 21, 2015. | State Department Photo

President Muhammadu Buhari has sacked seventeen chief executives of parastatals and agencies under the Federal Ministry of Education.

A statement issued by the ministry of education on Monday, August 1, 2016 said that the appointment are to take immediate effect.

Buhari, however, retained the appointment of four chief executives. They are Prof Samaila Junaidu, the head of Nigeria Educational Research & Development Council; Prof Rauuf Adebisi, the head of Nigerian French Language C\Village, Dr. Mas’ud Kazaure, the head of the National Board of Technical Education, and Prof Muhammad Mu’az, the head of the National Arabic Language Village.

The 17 agencies affected and the appointments are:

National Universities Commission (NUC) – Prof Abubakar adamu Rasheed

Nigerian Institute for education Planning and Administration – Pro, Mrs. Lilian Salami

Universal Basic Education   – Dr. Hameed Bobboyi

National Library of Nigeria – Prof Lanre Aina

National Examinations Council – Prof Charles Uwakwe

National Commission for Mass Literacy, Adult and Non-Formal education – Prof Abba Aladu

Nomadic education Commission – Prof Bashir Usman

National Business and technical Examinations Board – Prof Isioma Isiugo-Abanihe

Teachers Registration Council of Nigeria – Prof Sunday Josiah Ajiboye

Computer Registration Council of Nigeria – Afolabi Aderinto

National Commission for Colleges of Education – Prof Bappah Aliyu

Tertiary Education Trust Fund – Dr. Abdullahi Bichi Baffa

National Teachers Institute –  Prof Garba Dahuwa Azare

Librarians Registration Council of Nigeria – Prof Michael Afolabi

National Mathematical Centre – Prof Steven Ejugwu Onah

Joint Admission and Matriculation Board, JAMB – Prof Ishaq Oloyede

National Institute of Nigerian Languages – Prof Chinyere Ohiri-Aniche


Leave a Comment

To leave a comment anonymously, simple write your thoughts in the comments box below and click the ‘post comment’ button.