14.4 C
New York
Saturday, September 23, 2023

JUST IN: APC Sacks Fani Kayode From Convention Committee

Must read

The All Progressives Congress, APC, has removed former aviation minister, Femi Fani-Kayode, from its newly reconstituted committees for the March 26 national convention.

Similarly, Ogun governor Dapo Abiodun has been removed from the strategic elections committee to a less influential transport committee.

The removal of Messrs Fani-Kayode and Abiodun follows agitations against their assigned due to their past actions. While Mr Fani-Kayode was condemned for his past invectives against the party, Mr Abiodun is being rejected for the sham primaries he conducted in the Anambra gubernatorial race.

Mr Fani-Kayode who recently defected to the ruling party was to serve as the Deputy Chairman of the publicity committee chaired by Lagos state governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu in an earlier release.

While Mr Sanwo-Olu has now been moved to chair the finance committee in the reshuffled listings, the former aviation minister was removed completely from the party’s assignment.

The media committee is now chaired by sacked Ebonyi state governor, Dave Umahi and co-chaired by Babatunde Fashola while Garba Shehu was appointed secretary.

Mr Abiodun’s former role will now be undertaken by Jigawa governor Mohammed Abubakar supported by Ondo state governor Rotimi Akeredolu.

Senate president Ahmad Lawan is to head the screening appeal committee and is co-chaired by Imo state Governor, Hope Uzodinma.

Speaker, House of Representatives Femi Gbajabiamila would chair the entertainment/welfare committee alongside minister of state for FCT, Ramatu Tijjani, as co-chair.

Attorney-General of the federation, Abubakar Malami would head the legal committee with Niyi Akintola as co-chair.

Kano State governor, Umar Ganduje and minister of women affairs Pauline Tallen would head the accommodation committee.

Yahaya Bello, Kogi state governor would head the security committee, and former chief of army staff, Abdulrahman Dambazau would co-chair the committee.

Kaduna Governor, Nasir El-Rufai would chair the committee on accreditation of all delegates with Ovie Omo Agege as co-chair.

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article

%d bloggers like this: