Lawan Appoints Bwacha Committee Chairman 2 Days After Defecting To APC

Lawan Appoints Bwacha Committee Chairman 2 Days After Defecting To APC

By Wires | The Trent on February 9, 2022
Hate Speech, Ahmed Lawan, Chimaroke Nnamani, Ibrahim Baru, Abdulfatai Buhari, Aisha Dahiru, Uche Ekwunife, Ifeanyi Uba, Olubunmi Adetunmbi, Istifanus Gyan senate efcc
Ahmed Lawan, President of the Nigerian Senate

Barely forty-eight hours after he dumped his party, the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP for the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC, the President of the Senate, Senator Ahmad Lawan has appointed the former Deputy Minority Leader, Senator Emmanuel Bwacha, as the Chairman of the Committee on Procurement.

Bwacha’s appointment was announced on the floor at the Senate plenary. Bwacha as the Deputy Senate Minority Leader and as a principal officer, was the Deputy Chairman, Senate Committee on Works.

The President of the Senate has now announced the new Deputy Minority Leader, Senator Shuaibu Isa Lau as the new Vice-Chairman, Committee on Works.

Meanwhile, a total of five bills have passed the first reading in the Senate.

The bills include Alvan Ikoku Federal University of Education (Establishment) Bill, 2022 by Senator Francis Onyewuchi (Imo East); Infrastructure Development Bill, 2022 by Senator Sadiq Suleiman Umar (Kwara North); and Administration of Criminal Justice (Repeal and Re-enactment) Bill, 2022 by Emmanuel Orker-Jev (Benue North-West).

Others are the Terrorism (Prevention and Prohibition) Act 2013 (Amendment) Bill, 2022 by Suleiman Abdu Kwari (Kaduna North); and National Artisanal Petroleum Refining Development Agency (Establishment) Bill, 2022 by Aliyu Sabi Abdullahi (Niger North).

Source: Vanguard


Leave a Comment

To leave a comment anonymously, simple write your thoughts in the comments box below and click the ‘post comment’ button.