Plateau State Government Dissolves 17 Local Councils

Plateau State Government Dissolves 17 Local Councils

By Agency Reports on July 6, 2015
news press release
Photo Credit: iStock

NAN – Governor Simon Lalong of Plateau State, on Monday, dissolved the 17 Local Government Councils in the state.

A statement issued in Jos by the Secretary to the State Government, Mr Rufus Bature, said the dissolution was in exercise of the powers conferred on the governor by the Constitution.

It directed the local council chairmen, councilors and other political appointees to handover all government property in their care to Directors of Personnel Management in the councils.

It would be recalled that the local government chairmen and councilors were elected into office in February 2014.

“The governor directs all dissolved chairmen of councils; all members of the executive arm, councilors and other political appointees to hand over all government properties in their possession to directors of personnel management.

“Security operatives in the various local governments and particularly the Divisional Police Officers and members of the various labour unions are to ensure that all government properties are secured in the custody of the DPMs,” it said.

The statement further said that the governor has approved the appointment of Mrs Hulda Fwangchi as the new Head of Service of the State to replace Mr Ezekiel Dalyop.

Until her appointment, Mrs Fwangchi was a Permanent Secretary with the Plateau Government.

Lalong, according to the statement, thanked members of the dissolved councils and the former head of service for their selfless services and wished them well in their future endeavours.

It added that the governor assured them that their wealth of experience would be relied upon from time to time in the course of governing the state.


Leave a Comment

To leave a comment anonymously, simple write your thoughts in the comments box below and click the ‘post comment’ button.