Onitsha: Jubilation As 11 Pro-Biafra Activists Regain Freedom

Onitsha: Jubilation As 11 Pro-Biafra Activists Regain Freedom

By Ella Ukairo | News Reporter on October 23, 2016
Biafra South East IPOB Igbo
A woman holds a pro-Biafra sign

There was jubilation in some parts of Onitsha and Okpoko towns in Anambra State following the release of 11 of the 14 members of the Biafra Independence Movement, BIM, a secessionist group, from police custody.

The Sun reports that those released by police included Lady Pauline Muoghalu, Nze Duru Alisi and nine others pro-Biafra activists, who were among the 34 members of the group arrested by the Joint Task Force (JTF) in September.

The BIM members were arrested and taken into police custody during a peaceful procession on September 13, 2016 to mark 17 years of non-violent agitation for the actualisation of a sovereign state of Biafra.

Chris Mocha, spokesperson for BIM, who spoke to newsmen shortly after the detainees were granted bail by the Chief Magistrate Court sitting in Atani in Ogbaru Local Government Area (LGA) of the state, urged members of the group to remain steadfast in the struggle.

He, however, urged the Nigerian Army in Onitsha to avoid taking laws into their hands and hand over to the police 18 of their members that had been in its custody since their arrest in September.

Mocha also advised various splinter groups to emulate the non-violent approach of the Ralph Uwazuruike-led BIM in carrying out their agitations for Biafra, stating that it was the same method that most renowned emancipators like Nelson Mandela and Mahatma Ghandi, among others, employed in pursuing the independence of their people, which they achieved.

He warned other Biafra agitators not to hide under the cover of BIM to cause trouble, urging security agencies to arrest and prosecute anyone who attempts to use the name of the group to perpetrate evil in the society.

via ANAR


Leave a Comment

To leave a comment anonymously, simple write your thoughts in the comments box below and click the ‘post comment’ button.