Cristiano Ronaldo Wins La Liga’s Best Player At LFP Awards (PHOTO)

Cristiano Ronaldo Wins La Liga’s Best Player At LFP Awards (PHOTO)

By Joseph Emmanuel | Staff Reporter on October 28, 2014
Cristiano Ronaldo
Cristiano Ronaldo

Cristiano Ronaldo has again ranked at the top gong at the Lida de Fubol Profesional, LFP, awards as La Liga’s best player from the 2013/2014 campaign were revealed on Monday, October 27, 2014.

The Portuguese was named the best player from last season, after scoring 31 goals in 30 league matches for Real Madrid, statistics of scoring at least one goal in a match.

Cristiano Ronaldo becomes the second player to win the prize since its inception in 2008, with Lionel Messi having won all five of the previous titles.

Ronaldo LFP award
Ronaldo Voted La Liga’s Best Player At LFP Awards On Monday, October 27, 2014 (Photo Credit: SeniBet)

“I have to thank my team-mates, Real Madrid, my family… it is a very good moment in my career,” Ronaldo, also named best forward of the season, said at the awards ceremony in Madrid.

“For me, the important thing is to win collective prizes, but I like the individual ones, too. I work every day, in training, to continue adding more to this.”

Ronaldo also bagged the best player and best forward awards as he also scooped the prize for best goal of the campaign for his strike against Valencia in week 36 of the League.

Receiving an award was also Diego Simeone, who was honoured as best coach after guiding Atletico Madrid to the title in a remarkable season which also saw the team to the Champions League final.

The argentine also appreciates all his team for their supports and cooperation, “I want to share this with my players, without whom none of this would be possible, thanks to Koke, Gabi, Miranda, Courtois and everyone who made it possible to win the title,” he stated.

Keylor Navas, of Real Madrid, got the best goalkeeper accolade for his stunning season while with Levante, Sergio Ramos got the best defender award and Luka Modric was best defensive midfielder. It was conclusively a successful night for Carlo Ancelotti’s players.

Barcelona’s Andres Iniesta was voted the  best attacking midfielder, as Carlos Bacca and Yacine Brahimi were also recognised as best South America and Best African players respectively.

The awards for the best players and coach were voted for by the three team captains of each side in the spanishdivision, though they were not allowed to vote for their team mates, while internet polls were responsible for the best goal, best African and best South American prizes.


Leave a Comment

To leave a comment anonymously, simple write your thoughts in the comments box below and click the ‘post comment’ button.