BREAKING: Nigerian Senate Confirms 15 Out Of Buhari’s 27 REC Nominees

BREAKING: Nigerian Senate Confirms 15 Out Of Buhari’s 27 REC Nominees

By Wires | The Trent on June 1, 2017
Senate, Electoral Act
The Nigerian Senate during a plenary session

The Nigerian Senate on  confirmed 15 resident electoral commissioners, RECs, of the Independent Electoral Commission, INEC, out of the 27 nominees sent by President Muhammadu Buhari.

On March 23, Buhari sent 27 REC nominees to the upper legislative chamber for confirmation in compliance with section 14(3)(a) of the third schedule to the 1999 constitution as amended.

Suleiman Nazif, chairman of the senate committee on INEC, while presenting his report, explained that the remaining 12 nominees were still undergoing screening.

Nazif said that the other 12 RECs would be brought forward for confirmation once the committee is through with its screening.

He said that all the 27 nominees were cleared by the security agencies.


Godswill Obioma, Abia (new appointment)

Ahmed Makama, Bauchi (reappointment)

James Apam, Benue (new appointment)

Nwachukwu Orji, Ebonyi (new appointment)

Iloh Chuks, Enugu (new appointment)

Nentawe Yilwada, Plateau (new appointment)

Umar Ibrahim, Taraba (new appointment)

Emeka Joseph, Imo (new appointment)

Obo Effanga, Cross River (new appointment)

Francis Ezeonu, Anambra (new appointment)

Briyai Frankland, Bayelsa (new appointment)

Ibrahim Abdullahi, Adamawa (new appointment)

Agboke Olaleke, Ogun (new appointment)

Hussaini Pai, FCT (reappointment)

Sadiq Musa, Kaduna (reappointment)

Read more at TheCable.


Leave a Comment

To leave a comment anonymously, simple write your thoughts in the comments box below and click the ‘post comment’ button.