2 Senators Defect To Labour Party And NNPP

2 Senators Defect To Labour Party And NNPP

By Senior Editor | The Trent on June 22, 2022
Ahmad Lawan accounts loan
Ahmad Lawan, the president of the Senate

Two Senators on Wednesday announced their defection from their former political parties to another party ahead of the 2023 general election.

The Senators are Francis Ezenwa Onyewusi representing Imo East Senatorial district and Haliru Dauda Jika representing Bauchi Central Senatorial district.

During a plenary on Wednesday, their defection was made known by the Senate President, Dr. Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan.

While Senator Francis Onyewusi who is a first-timer to the Senate was a member of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, and defected to Labour Party, LP, his counterpart in Bauchi was a member of the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC, before he defected to the New Nigeria Peoples Party, NNPP.

The defected Senators cited injustice and inequity in their former political parties, making them fail the primary elections.


Leave a Comment

To leave a comment anonymously, simple write your thoughts in the comments box below and click the ‘post comment’ button.