The Executive Council and legislative arms of the 31 local government councils in Akwa Ibom State have been dissolved by the State House of Assembly.

The Speaker of the State House of Assembly, Mr. Aniekan Uko who announced this on Thursday directed the Chairmen of the 31 local government councils to hand over all government property that were in their custody to the Head of Service of each of the Council on Friday, July 10.

According to the Speaker, the decision was in line with the 1999 Constitution as amended noting that the tenure of the present local government chairmen would expire by 12 midnight on July 10 having been inaugurated on July 11, 2012 with three years life span.

He insisted that with the development the council chairmen of all the 31 local government council were expected to return all government property and documents under their possession to the head of service in their respective local government council.

The Speaker further directed the Clerk of the House, Mrs Mandu Umoren, to communicate the decision of the House to the State Governor, Mr. Udom Emmanuel for necessary action.

Read More


Leave a Comment

To leave a comment anonymously, simple write your thoughts in the comments box below and click the ‘post comment’ button.