APC Now Majority, Wins 64 Senate Seats

APC Now Majority, Wins 64 Senate Seats

By News Desk | The Trent on April 1, 2015
marafa Senate Amaechi PDP Senators
File Photo: Nigerian Senate Floor

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has emerged as the majority party in the upper chamber of the National Assembly after 64 of its Senatorial candidates emerged victorious in the elections held over the weekend, with the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) winning 44 seats of the 109 seats, leaving the Labour Party (LP) with one seat.

The PDP currently has 64 seats, the APC 41 seats while the LP, Accord Party and Social Democratic Party (SDP) shared the remaining seats.

With this development, the APC will constitute the principal officers in the 8th Senate which would be inaugurated in June.


Leave a Comment

To leave a comment anonymously, simple write your thoughts in the comments box below and click the ‘post comment’ button.