22.5 C
New York
Thursday, September 21, 2023

10th Assembly: APC Selects Akpabio and Abbas for Top National Assembly Roles

Must read

ABUJA, Nigeria – The National Working Committee, NWC, of the All Progressives Congress, APC, announced on Monday, May 8, 2023, the anointment of former Akwa Ibom State Governor, Senator Godswill Akpabio, as the Senate President of the 10th Assembly, Hon. Tajudeen Abbas from Kaduna State was also named as the Speaker of the House.

Felix Morka, the national publicity secretary of the APC, disclosed the news during a press briefing following the party’s National Executive Committee, NEC, meeting held at the national secretariat in Abuja.

Morka stated, “The NWC called for further and better consultation with necessary stakeholders in order to assure the support of the aspirants to the National Assembly leadership positions and members of the Party nationwide.”

The announcement follows a series of consultations and meetings held between the President-Elect, Bola Tinubu, and other party leaders to determine the zoning arrangement for the 10th National Assembly leadership positions.

Morka outlined the agreed-upon zoning arrangement, which includes Senator Barau Jubrin (Kano) as Deputy Senate President and Hon. Ben Kalu (Abia) as Deputy Speaker of the House.

In his concluding remarks, Morka urged party leaders, members, and all Nigerians to continue working toward the peace and progress of the nation during and beyond the current period of leadership transition.

As the 10th National Assembly takes shape, the appointments of Akpabio and Abbas signal a new era of leadership for the APC and the country as a whole.

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article

%d bloggers like this: