21.7 C
New York
Tuesday, July 23, 2024

BREAKING NEWS: PDP Endorsed Senator Saraki Emerges Senate President

Must read

Former Governor of Kwara State, Senator Bukola Saraki of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has emerged as the President on the just inaugurated 8th Senate.

Senator Saraki was returned unopposed by the 57 Senators who attended the inauguration held on Tuesday, June 9, 2015.

There had been apprehension over who would emerge as Senate President after the ruling APC chose Ahmed Lawan of Yobe State as its preferred candidate, a decision that did not go down well will supporters of Senator Saraki.

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) had in the early hours of Tuesday, June 9, 2015 pitched their tent with Senator Saraki, tilting the balance in his favour.

The emergence of Saraki did not come without its drama as 51 APC Senators loyal to Senator Lawan boycotted the inauguration, paving the way for Saraki as the only candidate after he was nominated by Senator Sani Yarima, a former Governor of Zamfara State, a motion seconded by DIno Melaye of Kogi State.

Clerk of the National Assembly, Abubakar Sani called for more nominations, and as none was raised, Saraki was duly elected.PDP’s Senator Ike Ekweremadu from Enugu State was returned as the Deputy Senate President. He had served in that capacity during the tenure of former Senate President, David Mark.

More articles

- Advertisement -The Fast Track to Earning Income as a Publisher
- Advertisement -The Fast Track to Earning Income as a Publisher
- Advertisement -Top 20 Blogs Lifestyle

Latest article