Kwara: Senate President Saraki Loses Senatorial Race To APC

Kwara: Senate President Saraki Loses Senatorial Race To APC

By Wires Editor | The Trent on February 25, 2019
Bukola Saraki, Yekini Nabena, Aminu Tambuwal, APC
Dr. Bukola Saraki, Nigeria's Senate President

Bukola Saraki, the senate president lost in his bid to return to the Senate in Saturday’s National Assembly elections in Karate Central Senatorial District.

Saraki, who contested on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, lost to Ibrahim Oloriegbe of the All Progressives Congress, APC.

Premium Times reported how the Senate President lost all four of the local governments in his senatorial district.

The local governments, which include Asa, Ilorin East, Ilorin West and Ilorin South, were all won by Mr. Oloriegbe.

Declaring the result of the elections on Sunday, February 24, 2019, in the district, the returning officer, Olawole Obiyemi, a professor of human kinetics education at the University of Ilorin, said Mr. Saraki polled 68,994 votes.

On the other hand, the total votes garnered by Mr Oloriegbe was 123, 808.

Oloriegbe was thereafter declared the senator-elect in Kwara Central Senatorial District.


Leave a Comment

To leave a comment anonymously, simple write your thoughts in the comments box below and click the ‘post comment’ button.