Non-Teaching Staff Unions Of Universities Call Off Nationwide Strike

Non-Teaching Staff Unions Of Universities Call Off Nationwide Strike

By Wires | The Trent on March 15, 2018
Ban, Education, Tuition Fee, Universities
Nigeria's education minister, Adamu Adamu

The non-teaching staff of Nigerian universities has suspended their nationwide strike.

The staff, members of three unions, NASU, SSANU, and NAAT, announced the suspension of the three months and 10 days old strike on Wednesday, March 14, 2018.

Samson Ugwoke, the national chairman of the Joint Action Committee, JAC, of the three unions announced suspension on Wednesday at a press briefing.

He said members of the three unions have been directed to resume on Thursday, March 15, 2018.

“We shall not hesitate to resume the strike if government reneges on the agreements reached or delays in many aspects,” he said.

Recall that the federal government at a meeting with the unions last week, had agreed to source for about N8 billion to settle the earned allowance of striking non-teaching staff of universities within the next five weeks, a commitment that led to the suspension of the industrial action.

The development formed part of the agreement reached between the striking workers under the Joint Action Committee and the federal government after two days of the conciliatory meeting.

At the conciliatory meeting, the government had agreed to the unions’ demand that no worker be victimized on account of taking part in the strike action.

The agreement was signed by Chris Ngige, the Minister of Labour and Employment, Anthony Anwukah,  Minister of State for Education, Comrade Samson Ugokwe, President of the Senior Staff Association of Nigerian Universities, SSANU, President of the National Association Academic Technologists, NAAT, Sani Suleiman and General Secretary of Non Academic Staff Union, NASU, Peters Adeyemi.

The workers embarked on an indefinite strike on December 4, 2017, as a result of the failure of the government to implement some of the contents of the agreement of September 20, 2017, with JAC.

“Government is to source for N8billion within five (5) weeks to pay JAC of SSANU, NAAT and NASU members and members of the Academic Staff Union of Universities, ASUU, in the University of Nigeria, Nsukka, UNN, and University of Ilorin, UNILORIN, who did not get paid in the last disbursement exercise.

“The Federal Ministry of Education reported that the Office of the Accountant General of the Federation, OAGF, has started payment of Salary Shortfalls and the process is still ongoing.

Source: Vanguard


Leave a Comment

To leave a comment anonymously, simple write your thoughts in the comments box below and click the ‘post comment’ button.