#UnlikeAPC: Choose Minority Principal Officers By Yourselves – PDP To Lawmakers

#UnlikeAPC: Choose Minority Principal Officers By Yourselves – PDP To Lawmakers

By News Desk | The Trent on July 2, 2015
national Assembly
National Assembly Complex, Abuja

The National Working Committee of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) on Wednesday, July 1, 2015 asked its Senators and members of the House of Representatives to elect its principal officers through the various caucuses in the National Assembly, as stipulated by the constitution.

As the minority party in the national assembly, the PDP is entitled to have the following principal offices in both chambers: Minority Leader, Deputy Minority Leader; Minority Whip and Deputy Minority Whip.

Speaking to newsmen after a meeting with the NWC, the PDP National Publicity Secretary, Olisa Metuh said the party would not interfere in the election of the principal officers, as the Standing Order does not permit the party sending a list of preferred candidates (as was the case with the All Progressives Congress).Metuh also disclosed that the NWC had zoned the principal offices as follows:

For Senate: Minority Leader (South South), Deputy Minority Leader (North East), Minority Whip (North Central), Deputy Minority Whip (South West).

For the House of Representatives: Minority Leader to (South South); Minority Whip (North West), Deputy Minority Leader (South East)  Deputy Minority Whip (North East).

Metuh said: “In consonance with the provision of your Standing Rules, you are through this medium advised to use your various zonal party caucuses to choose the party’s principal officers to enable you provide effective opposition in the respective chambers of the National Assembly.”


Leave a Comment

To leave a comment anonymously, simple write your thoughts in the comments box below and click the ‘post comment’ button.