Yaya Toure Emerges CAF’s African Player Of The Year

Yaya Toure Emerges CAF’s African Player Of The Year [SEE Full List]

By Ekemini Ekwere | News Reporter on January 9, 2014
Yaya Toure

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has crowned Cote d’Ivoire midfielder, Yaya Toure African Player of the Year 2013 beating Nigeria’s John Mikel Obi and Didier Drogba of Cote d’Ivoire.

This is the third consecutive time the Manchester City player, Toure, is winning the award. He also won BBC’s African Player of the Year 2013 in December.

The highly anticipated awards held on Thursday evening January 9th 2014 at Eko Hotel and Suites Victoria Island, Lagos.

Co-hosted by former Super Eagles striker Sunday Oliseh, the Glo CAF Awards 2013 had musical performances by Africa’s top singers including Flavour, Psquare, and Lira.

See the full list of winners below:

National Team of the Year: Super Eagles of Nigeria

Youth National Team of the Year: Golden Eaglets of Nigeria

Club of the Year: Al Ahly

Fair Play Awards: Nigeria Supporters Club

Coach of the Year: Stephen Keshi

Most Promising Talent: Kelechi Iheanacho

Referee of the Year: Haimoudi Djamel

CAF Legends – Late Bruno Metsu & Jose Mehdi Faria

African Player of the Year (Africa based): Mohamed Aboutreika

African Player of the Year: Yaya Toure

Platinum Award goes to President Goodluck Jonathan
Africa XI – Enyeama. Fathi. Benatia. Constant. Mikel. Yaya. Aboutreika. Pitroipa. Emenike. Gyan. Aubameyang. Coach: Keshi


Leave a Comment

To leave a comment anonymously, simple write your thoughts in the comments box below and click the ‘post comment’ button.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.