Workplace drinking is generally frowned upon – as this goalkeeper found out to the tune of over five grand recently.
During a Chinese Super League match between Chongqing Lifan and Liaoning, keeper Sui Weijie took an extremely badly-timed drinks break, allowing opposing midfielder Ding Haifeng to nip in and slot the ball into the empty net.
To be fair to him, quite how the referee allowed Liaoning’s tactic of ‘taking surprise free-kicks’ is beyond us, and the midfielder’s celebrations are in pretty poor taste.
Local media have since reported that Sui was confronted by angry supporters after the game, and that his club have fined him 50,000 Chinese Yuan (£5,200) for his mistake.
After the match, Sui reportedly said: ‘I made a terrible mistake in Sunday’s game and let go a full three points.
‘I won’t repeat the same mistake and will never lose concentration.’
Weirdly enough, the Liaoning manager was also sipping from a water bottle at the same time, and gave a similarly priceless reaction to the goal.
This unfortunate keeper really reminds us of someone too…