North East’s Ahmed Lawan Emerges As New Senate President

North East’s Ahmed Lawan Emerges As New Senate President

By Wires Editor | The Trent on June 11, 2019
Ahmed Lawan, Muhammadu Buhari
Ahmed Lawan, President of the Nigerian Senate

Ahmed Lawan, a senator represents Yobe North Senatorial District, has been elected the Senate President of the 9th Senate, as he defeated his opponent, Senator Ali Ndume.

At the end of counting, Lawan polled 79 votes to defeat Ndume, who scored 28 votes.

Lawan, won the contest by winning 73.83 percent of the vote cast by the lawmakers.

Lawan’s victory was announced by the clerk of the National Assembly on Tuesday, June 11, 2019, Mohammed Sani-Omolori, who added that 107 senators cast their votes.

He was immediately sworn-in by the clerk of the National Assembly.

Ndume had refused to step down for Lawan despite pleas by the party leadership. He vowed to go on with his ambition.

The APC was not ready to get it wrong this time around as it did in 2015 when Dr. Bukola Saraki emerged winner to become the Senate President in the 8th Assembly.

Earlier, there was commotion at the Senate as lawmakers disagreed on what form of voting system should be adopted to elect principal officers of the upper chamber.

Trouble started when the Clerk of the Senate, Mohammed Sani, read President Muhammadu Buhari’s proclamation letter to members of the Senate, and announced that open ballot would be used for voting exercise.

This led to commotion as those who supported the idea and those opposing it engaged in a shouting match.

Read more at ChannelsTv


Leave a Comment

To leave a comment anonymously, simple write your thoughts in the comments box below and click the ‘post comment’ button.