2023: Buhari Orders Ministers Who Have Bought Nomination Forms To Resign

2023: Buhari Orders Ministers Who Have Bought Nomination Forms To Resign

By Wires Editor | The Trent on May 11, 2022
buhari, twitter ban
Nigerian President Muhammadu Buhari addresses members of his cabinet upon his arrival at the presidency last month in Abuja, Nigeria.

President Muhammadu Buhari, on Wednesday, May 11, 2022, ordered every member of the Federal Executive Council, FEC, who has the ambition to contest elective offices in the 2023 general elections to resign on or before May 16.

Those affected are Ministers of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi; Niger Delta, Godswill Akpabio; Labour and Employment, Chris Ngige; Science, Technology and Innovation, Ogbonnaya Onu, Minister of State for Education, Emeka Nwajiuba; Justice and Attorney General, Abubakar Malami, who have joined the presidential race on the platform of the All Progressive Congress, APC.

Others are the Minister of State Mines and Steel, Uche Ogar, who is running for the governorship position in Abia State, the Minister of Women Affairs, Pauline Tallen, who declared her ambition to contest for the senatorial seat in Plateau State.

The Minister of Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed, made the disclosure while briefing journalists at the end of FEC meeting presided over by President Buhari.

He said he did not have the mandate to talk on the fate of other political appointees who are also vying for elective positions, but are not members of the cabinet.


Leave a Comment

To leave a comment anonymously, simple write your thoughts in the comments box below and click the ‘post comment’ button.