APC, PDP Senators Set For Showdown Over Sharing Of Committees

APC, PDP Senators Set For Showdown Over Sharing Of Committees

By News Desk | The Trent on July 14, 2015
marafa Senate Amaechi PDP Senators
File Photo: Nigerian Senate Floor

Senators from either the All Progressives Congress (APC) and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)may be set for another round of politicking over the sharing of the Senate’s 57 Standing Committees.

In the PDP-led 7th Assembly, only 5 committees were allocated to the APC Senators under the old Senate rules.

The APC Senators were, Ahmad Lawan (Yobe North), Public Accounts Committee; Ayo Akinyelure (Ondo North), Ethics and Privileges; Ajayi Borrofice (Ondo), Science and Technology; Ayo Adeseun (Oyo), Capital Market and and Gbenga Obadara (Ogun), Privatisation.

However, the Senate rules have been reviewed with Chapter two, Order2(3) 2(iv), stating that: ”the appointment‎ of senators as chairmen and members of the committees shall be carried out in such manner as to reflect the six geo-political zones of the country and there shall be no predominance of the senators from few geo-political Zones”.

This means that the PDP will enjoy a near-equal amount of committees with the APC, with pundits saying the PDP would get at least 20 committees.

Sources at the upper chambers have it that APC Senators are already kicking against the new rule as they are believed to want to enjoy as much monopoly as the PDP enjoyed for the past 16 years.


Leave a Comment

To leave a comment anonymously, simple write your thoughts in the comments box below and click the ‘post comment’ button.