BREAKING: Dickson Floors Sylva, Wins Re-election As Governor Of Bayelsa

BREAKING: Dickson Floors Sylva, Wins Re-election As Governor Of Bayelsa

By Pius Godsday | Politics Reporter on January 10, 2016
Governor of Bayelsa State, Hon. Seriake Dickson (left) accompanied by the former 1st lady, Dame Patience Jonathan (centre) acknowledging cheers from the mammoth crowd on their arrival during the Governor’s declaration for 2nd term in office, at the Samson Siasia Sports Complex in Yenagoa, while the 1st Civilian Governor of the State, Chief Diepreye Alamieyeseigha (right) looks on in Yenagoa today (Tuesday) September 8, 2015

bayelsa has decided

Hon. Seriake Henry Dickson has won re-election as Governor of Bayelsa State.

Dickson, of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), won the supplementary governorship election held yesterday in the Southern Ijaw LGA and 101 other units across the state.

Official figures released by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) showed that he garnered 23,081 votes in Southern Ijaw as against 10,216 won by his main rival, Chief Timipre Sylva of the federal-ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

Dickson went into the supplementary election with a clear advantage after leading in the initial election held on December 5, 2015 but declared inconclusive by INEC.

He thus becomes the first person to win re-election as Bayelsa Governor.


Leave a Comment

To leave a comment anonymously, simple write your thoughts in the comments box below and click the ‘post comment’ button.