ojuelegba, zamfara, church bombings Minimum Wage Super Falcons Aminu Tambuwal Bukola Saraki, Dapchi, Schoolgirls, Yobe, Full List

The appearance of the Monkeypox virus in Nigeria has spread to four more states in addition to the three oil-rich states of Bayelsa, Rivers, and Akwa Ibom.

The virus was first detected in Bayelsa State, after which it was reported in Rivers.

The National Centre for Disease Control in Abuja on Monday, October 9, 2017 reports that Lagos, Ekiti, Lagos, and Ogun states have joined the first three.

The federal health agency says there are now thirty-one cases of infections with the monkeypox virus in the seven affected states.

Two cases have been reported in the economic capital of the country, Lagos.

FILE: This 7-year-old Congolese child developed monkeypox after hunting squirrels in the forest surrounding her village.

The first reported cases of the Monkeypox outbreak were recorded in the Fangbe area of Bayelsa state on October 5, where 13 people were hospitalised and 49 suspected cases quarantined.

In its efforts to curb the spread of the viral monkeypox disease, the Bayelsa State Government has intensified its efforts, especially in the areas of public enlightenment ‎and civic engagement.

The government therefore called on residents of the state to report all suspected cases of the disease by using the following ‎hotlines: 08066987752 and‎ 08035474676, to get rapid response team.‎

Samples from suspected victims have been sent to the World Health Organisation, WHO laboratory in Dakar, Senegal for confirmation.

After the first report of the suspected cases in Bayelsa, the Minister of Health, Isaac Adewole and the Executive Director of the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control, NCDC, Chikwe Ihekweazu had called for calm among Nigerians saying the government is taking the required steps to manage the disease and to prevent further spread.


Leave a Comment

To leave a comment anonymously, simple write your thoughts in the comments box below and click the ‘post comment’ button.