Ibori, Others To Return Home Under Nigeria-UK Prisoner Transfer Agreement

Ibori, Others To Return Home Under Nigeria-UK Prisoner Transfer Agreement

By Ekemini Ekwere | News Reporter on January 9, 2014

Nigeria and Britain on Thursday January 9th 2014 signed a Prisoners Transfer Agreement (PTA) in Abuja to pave the way for the repatriation of some of the 521 Nigerians currently serving jails terms in the UK.

Nigeria’s Minister of Justice Mohammed Adoke and the British Justice Minister Jermey Wright signed the transfer agreement on behalf of the respective countries.

In addition, the British government has also promised to give the country one million pounds [about N280 million] to assist on comprehensive reformation of the Nigerian Prisons for the comfort of the inmates.

With this development, there are plans to repatriate former governor of Delta state, James Ibori and many other Nigerians in various UK Prisons, in order to complete their jail terms in the country.

Former Delta governor, James Ibori in an undates photo
Former Delta governor, James Ibori in an undated photo

Speaking at the ceremony, Adoke said the signing of the agreement was an indication of the friendly and cordial relationship between both countries.

Both countries have been able to successfully negotiate and reach a consensus on the prison transfer agreement, which is quite commendable, he added.

“This I must say is a credit to both countries in seeing that we produced a document that is acceptable to both countries,” he said.

“It is important to note the commitment of the federal government to the signing of this agreement and I must commend the National Assembly for expeditiously reviewing the provisions of our law,” Adoke said.

According to him, the administration of President Goodluck Jonathan remains irrevocably committed to the welfare of Nigerians residing in the UK, even in the formal signing of this agreement.



Leave a Comment

To leave a comment anonymously, simple write your thoughts in the comments box below and click the ‘post comment’ button.