INEC Declares 2 Senatorial, 5 Federal Constituencies Elections Inconclusive In Rivers

INEC Declares 2 Senatorial, 5 Federal Constituencies Elections Inconclusive In Rivers

By News Agency of Nigeria on March 1, 2019
Mahmood Yakubu, Maureen Chigbo, Mohamed Ibn Chambas, Haroun Adamu, INEC
INEC Chairman, Professor Mahmood Yakubu

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, on Thursday, February 28, 2019, declared two Senatorial Districts election results of Rivers East and Rivers West inconclusive.

The Rivers East Senatorial District was declared inconclusive by INEC because of results from Okrika and Ikwerre Local Government Areas.

For the Rivers West, there was no results from Akuku-Toru, Bonny and Ahoada-West Local Government Areas.

For the Rivers South East Senatorial District, the election there was concluded and Barry Mpigi who defected from the crisis-ridden APC in Rivers was declared elected.

Out of 13 House of Representatives in state, five seats were inconclusive. They are Okrika, Ikwerre-Emohua, Asari-Toru/Akuku-Toru, Degema-Bonny, Ahoada-West-Ahoada East Federal Constituencies.

In the rest eight local government area that were declared, PDP won all.

Not date has been fixed for the conclusion of the affected local government areas where elections are inconclusive.


  1. Why didn’t inec dissolve some of the irregularity vote in kano, where by there are places PDP won an election of federal house of representative, and they were delayed there mandates and given to a given to APC, Umar Ballack of the PDP won kumbotso federal house of representative, but his mandate was given to miniru baba dangudi of APC, many irregularity was too much in kano election too, why is mahmood Yakubu, the inec chairman working for APC?

  2. Is this what APC and INEC has for us whenever PDP win any place in Nigeria they will declear the place inconclusive, they did it in Ekiti and Osun governorship election, this is unfair

Leave a Comment

To leave a comment anonymously, simple write your thoughts in the comments box below and click the ‘post comment’ button.