26.7 C
New York
Saturday, June 22, 2024

Kwankwaso Regains Supremacy Over Ganduje As NNPP’s Kabir Wins Kano Guber Election

Must read

In a surprising turn of events, New Nigeria Peoples Party’s (NNP) candidate, Kabir Ibrahim has been declared the winner of the Kano governorship election by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

According to INEC’s final results, Kwankwaso garnered a total of 2,738,240 votes, while Ganduje received 2,638,180 votes. The NNP’s Kabir Ibrahim emerged as the winner with a total of 3,015,360 votes, beating both Kwankwaso and Ganduje.

The election, which was highly contested, was marred by reports of violence and electoral malpractices in some parts of the state. However, INEC officials assured the public that the results were credible and reflected the will of the people.

The NNP’s victory in Kano has been seen as a major upset for the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) party, which has held the governorship position in the state since 2015. It is also a significant win for the NNP, which is a relatively new political party in the country.

The governor-elect, Kabir Ibrahim, has promised to prioritize the development of the state and address the challenges facing its citizens. He has also called for unity and reconciliation among the people of Kano, regardless of their political affiliations.

The results of the Kano gubernatorial election have been closely watched by political observers across the country, as it is one of the most populous and politically influential states in Nigeria.

Meanwhile, the Kano State Government has imposed a dawn-to-dusk curfew to avoid a breakdown of law and order, following tensions generated from the collation of results of the governorship and state Assembly elections.

Officially, seven of the 11 governors who sought reelection in the March 18 polls held across Nigeria in West Africa have been declared winners by the electoral umpire to return to office for another four-year term each.

They are Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos State, Dapo Abiodun of Ogun State, Seyi Makinde of Oyo State, AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq of Kwara State, Inuwa Yahaya of Gombe State, Abdullahi Sule of Nasarawa State and Mai Mala Buni of Yobe State.

Also, five newcomers have won governorship elections in the country — Umo Eno in Akwa Ibom State, Umar Namadi in Jigawa State, Dikko Radda in Katsina State, Ahmed Aliyu Sokoto in Sokoto State and Yusuf Kabir in Kano State.

Of the 12 winners announced so far, nine of them belong to the ruling party, the APC, two are PDP members, and one to the NNPP.

More articles

- Advertisement -The Fast Track to Earning Income as a Publisher
- Advertisement -The Fast Track to Earning Income as a Publisher
- Advertisement -Top 20 Blogs Lifestyle

Latest article