Nigeria Bans Travelers From India, Brazil, Turkey

Nigeria Bans Travelers From India, Brazil, Turkey

By Wires Editor | The Trent on May 2, 2021
Boss Mustapha
Boss Mustapha, the secretary to the government of the Federation

The Nigerian government has banned entry of passengers from three different countries.

Boss Mustapha, the chairman, PSC on COVID-19, in a statement announced on Sunday, May 2, 2021, that those who visited Brazil, India, and Turkey will be denied entry to Nigeria.

However, this does not apply to those who transited through these countries.

Part of the statement read: “Any person who has visited Brazil, India or Turkey within 14 days preceding travel to Nigeria, shall be denied entry into Nigeria.

“This regulation does not apply to passengers who transited through these countries.”

This became necessary following the spike in COVID-19 cases in those countries.

In India, authorities reported about 392,488 new cases in the previous 24 hours bringing the total cases to 19.56 million.

Indian hospitals and morgues have been overwhelmed as the country reported more than 300,000 daily cases for about 10 days.

Many families have been left on their own to scramble for medicines and oxygen as the nation’s healthcare system is unable to cope with number of cases.

Nearly 10 Indian states have imposed some form of lockdown, even as the federal government remains reluctant to impose a national lockdown due to the economic effect.


Leave a Comment

To leave a comment anonymously, simple write your thoughts in the comments box below and click the ‘post comment’ button.