Nnedi Okorafor Becomes First Nigerian To Win Hugo Award

Nnedi Okorafor Becomes First Nigerian To Win Hugo Award

By Ogala Osoka | Staff Reporter on September 7, 2016
Cover art for the novella, Binti by Nnedi Okorafor
Nnedi Okorafor | Joe Mazza/BraveLux
Nnedi Okorafor | Joe Mazza/BraveLux

Author, Nnedi Okorafor has won the Hugo award for the best novella for her book, Binti, making her the first Nigerian to do so.

Brittle Paper reports that Okorafor has become the first Nigerian to win the Hugo awards joining the likes of  Ursula K. Le Guin and J.K Rowling.

The Hugo awards which is given to acknowledge the best science fiction for the previous year are voted for by members of the World Science Fiction convention.

The award ceremony which was formally named  the Science Fiction Achievement Awards until 1992 when it was named after Hugo Gernsback, the founder of Amazing Stories, a leading science -fiction magazine,  held on Saturday, August 20, 2016 and was hosted by Pat Cadigan and Jan Siegel.

Other winners of the 2016 Hugo Awards are N.L. jemisin The Fifth Season for the best novel category, Folding Beijing by Hao Jingfang for the Best Novelette category.

Okorafor has previously won the 2016 Nebula award with Binti as well.



Leave a Comment

To leave a comment anonymously, simple write your thoughts in the comments box below and click the ‘post comment’ button.