Buhari Writes Acting Chief Justice Requesting Appointment Of 5 New Supreme Court...

Buhari Writes Acting Chief Justice Requesting Appointment Of 5 New Supreme Court Justices

By Wires | The Trent on June 10, 2019
Niger Delta Development Commission, Buhari Featured
A handout image released by the Nigerian Presidential Press Services on May 29, 2019 shows Nigerian President Muhammadu Buhari being sworn in during his inauguration ceremony in Abuja, Nigeria. | Sunday Aghaeze/State House Photo

President Muhammadu Buhari has written the acting chief justice of Nigeria, CJN, Hon. Justice Tanko Muhammad, over the appointment of additional five Justices for the Supreme Court of Nigeria.

President Buhari, in a statement on Sunday, June 9, 2019, by Garba Shehu, a spokesperson of President Buhari, also accepted the voluntary retirement of Justice Walter Onnoghen as the Chief Justice of Nigeria.

The President wrote: ‘‘Pursuant to the provisions of Section 230(2) A&B of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999 (as amended), I am pleased to request that you initiate in earnest the process of appointing additional five justices of the Supreme Court of Nigeria to make the full complement of 21 Justices as provided by the aforementioned provisions of the Constitution.

‘‘This is in line with the Government’s Agenda of repositioning the Judiciary in general and Supreme Court in particular for greater efficiency, with a view to reducing the backlogs of appeals pending at the Supreme Court.

‘Please accept, your Lordship, the assurances of my highest regards.’’ it stated

It added: “President Buhari has accepted the voluntary retirement from service of Hon. Justice Walter Onnoghen as Chief Justice of Nigeria, effective from May 28, 2019.

“The President thanked Justice Onnoghen for his service to the Federal Republic of Nigeria and wished him the best of retirement life.”

Read more at ChannelsTv


Leave a Comment

To leave a comment anonymously, simple write your thoughts in the comments box below and click the ‘post comment’ button.