The Confederation of Africa Football (CAF) has issued a five-year ban to the factional president of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), Chris Giwa and four other members of his faction.

Among the four affected members are: Muazu Suleyman, Yahya Adama, Sanni Fema and Johnson Effiong.

Factional president of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), Chris Giwa
Factional president of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), Chris Giwa

The development was conveyed via a letter signed by the secretary general of CAF, Hicham El Amrani.

The letter which was addressed to the president, was titled, “Re-Conveyance of Sanctions By NFF Disciplinary Sanctions Extension At The Continental Level”.

The letter reads: “Following your previous correspondence dated May 16th and subsequent exchanges, CAF has well noted the decision of the NFF’s Disciplinary Committee dated May 12th placing five(5) year ban from all football related activities for the following people: Chris Giwa; Muazu Suleyman; Yahaya Adama; Sani Fema and Johnson Effiong.

“Following receipt of the documentation and details on the case, CAF hereby confirms the extension of such sanctions at the continental level. Please accept, dear President, our most sincere regards.”

This recent development confirmed an earlier ban issued on the affected members by the Amaju Pinnick-led faction of the association.

Mr. Chris Giwa has been in a running battle with other factions within the football management organisation of the country. A long legal battle ended in a court declaring Giwa the “rightful” president of the NFF. Giwa, apparently backed by the Buhari-led federal government invaded the headquarters of the organisation in Abuja and forcefully assumed control of the affairs of the institution.


Leave a Comment

To leave a comment anonymously, simple write your thoughts in the comments box below and click the ‘post comment’ button.