Putin Puts Over 900 Famous Americans On Blacklist

Putin Puts Over 900 Famous Americans On Blacklist [SEE LIST]

By Wires Editor | The Trent on May 25, 2022
Russia's President Vladimir Putin

More than 900 American celebrities, politicians, and business leaders have been “permanently banned” from Russia by the country’s foreign ministry.

A total of 936 people have been banned as retaliation for the series of economic, political and cultural sanctions imposed on the country since its invasion of Ukraine in February.

Among those now barred from entering Russia is Morgan Freeman, 84-year-old Hollywood actor, and star of The Shawshank Redemption.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Freeman was banned from Russia after fronting a video for the Committee To Investigate Russia, an organisation that accuses Moscow of interfering in US politics.

The clip was directed by Rob Reiner – who also directed hit films including This Is Spinal Tap, When Harry Met Sally, and A Few Good Men – who has himself been banned from entering Russia.

“We emphasise that the hostile actions taken by Washington, which boomerang against the United States itself, will continue to receive a proper rebuff,” the Russian foreign ministry said in a statement.

“Russian counter-sanctions are forced and aimed at forcing the ruling American regime… to change its behaviour, recognising new geopolitical realities.”

US President Joe Biden and Vice-President Kamala Harris had already been banned from entering the country.

Former First Lady, Secretary of State and 2016 presidential candidate Hilary Clinton has likewise now been barred from Russia, along with current US Secretary of State Antony Blinken.

Three former Senators – John McCain, Harry Reid and Orrin Hatch – were also included on the list, despite all having died in 2018, 2021 and April 23 this year respectively.

Other senior US politicians included on the list are transportation secretary Pete Buttigieg and defence secretary Lloyd Austin, House of Representatives Speaker Nancy Pelosi and Senate Majority Leader Chuck Schumer.

Senators Amy Klobuchar, Ted Cruz and Lindsey Graham were also barred, alongside Representatives Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, Ilhan Omar, Matt Gaetz and Marjorie Taylor-Greene, along with a number of others.

Representative Rosa DeLauro, also included on the list, said she was “honoured” to have been banned from Russia. Absent from the list, however, is former president Donald Trump.

Several American business leaders were listed, with Facebook boss Mark Zuckerberg and Microsoft president Brad Smith among those now barred from entering Russia.

Boris Johnson, foreign secretary Liz Truss and defence secretary Ben Wallace, along with 10 other UK government members, were barred from Russia last month.

The announcement of the latest bans came on the same day Joe Biden approved a $40 billion (£32 billion) package of military and economic aid for the Ukrainian government.

Source: Mirror


Leave a Comment

To leave a comment anonymously, simple write your thoughts in the comments box below and click the ‘post comment’ button.