Ekiti: Fayemi Pardons One Inmate, Frees 16 From Prison

Ekiti: Fayemi Pardons One Inmate, Frees 16 From Prison

By Bayo Adegbite | Politics Reporter on October 13, 2019
Kayode Fayemi
Governor Kayode Fayemi

Kayode Fayemi, the governor of Ekiti State, has released 16 prisoners serving jail terms for various offences in the state. He also pardoned one inmate.

Olawale Fapohunda, the state’s attorney-general revealed this in a statement on Sunday, October 12, 2019.

Fapohunda explained that the governor gave the order after accepting the recommendation of the Ekiti State Advisory Council on Prerogative of Mercy to grant clemency to the inmates.

The beneficiaries, according to him, are serving various prison sentences in the Nigerian Correctional Services facilities in Ado Ekiti, the state capital and Kirikiri Maximum, Lagos State.

Of those released, Governor Fayemi granted state pardon to one person, released 16 from prison while the death sentence of two other persons was converted to life imprisonment.

According to the Attorney-General, the Ekiti State Advisory Council on Prerogative of Mercy considered 50 applications for clemency at its third sitting.

He said the applications of these beneficiaries were granted because they have individually demonstrated the potential to turn their lives around.

“On behalf of the State Advisory Council on Prerogative of Mercy, I congratulate all the beneficiaries,” Fapohunda added.

He affirmed that those granted freedom have been released from the correctional facilities.

The commissioner was also optimistic that the beneficiaries would make the best use of the second chance by being law-abiding and good citizens.

One prisoner, Abologbonrin Ojo, was given a state pardon. While two prisoners on death row, Tunde Abe and Adeniyi Owolabi, had the sentences commuted to life.

Sixteen inmates were released from prison. Their names were listed as Olowo Ajayi, Ojo Sunday, Sunday Fanimara, Olusuyi Dare Olaifa, Williams Sunday, Sylvanus Oferufega, Lucky Suberu, Babatunde Ogunjobi, Tope Ajayi, Lawrence Idowu Bamidele, Ogunboyo Richard, Ayodele Ayinde, Adebayo Ojo, Akeem Adebayo, Abirifon Julius, and Abirifon Olabode.


Leave a Comment

To leave a comment anonymously, simple write your thoughts in the comments box below and click the ‘post comment’ button.