BREAKING: Former Governor Fayemi Declared Winner Of Ekiti Guber Poll

BREAKING: Former Governor Fayemi Declared Winner Of Ekiti Guber Poll

Kayode Fayemi, Ayodele Fayose, ETG, Kazeem Adekunle, INEC
Former Governor Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti State

Kayode Fayemi, the candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, in the Ekiti governorship election has been declared the winner of the governorship election conducted in the South Western state on Saturday, July 14, 2018.

Fayemi, who resigned from President Muhammadu Buhari’s cabinet where he served as solid ministers minister, defeated his closest challenger, Professor Kolapo Olusola, of the People’s Democratic Party, PDP, by winning winning in 12 out of 16 local government areas in the state.

Fayemi got 53% of the votes (197,459) while Olusola polled 47% of the votes (178,121).

The exercise was marred by violence, allegations of voter inducement, and interference of the federal government in the process.

The PDP had complained of arrest and detention of its deputy governorship candidate and its party leaders in the state prior to the exercise.

In swift reaction to the tainted elections, President Muhammadu Buhari congratulated Fayemi and called for him to be “magnanimous” in victory.

The voter turnout in the 2018 Ekiti governorship election was 44.6%, a decline of five percent from the 50.3% voter turnout of 2014.

Idowu Olayinka, the chief returning officer for the poll,  which declared Fayemi winner of the hotly contested poll.

Professor Olayinka, vice chancellor of the  University of Ibadan, also announced other results: Accord, 250; Action Alliance, 41; ACD, 1149; AD, 216; ADB, 1082; ADA, 107; AGAO, 31; ANRP, 125; APA, 1199; and APDA, 464.

Also votes were APGA, 70; ANPP, 14; DA, 14; DPC, 147; DPP,181; FJP, 42; GPN, 20; I.D, 31;, KOWA, 23; LP, 280; MMN, 35; MPN, 23; NDLP, 44; NPC, 353 PANDEL, 74; and PGC, 1242.

The rest were DPA, 632; PPN, 107; SDO, 367; UDP, 29; UPN, 33; YDP, 31 and YPP, 49.


Leave a Comment

To leave a comment anonymously, simple write your thoughts in the comments box below and click the ‘post comment’ button.