REVEALED: State Govts Received Over N9.6 Trillion From Federation Account In 4...

REVEALED: State Govts Received Over N9.6 Trillion From Federation Account In 4 Years (DETAILS)

Indications have emerged from recent investigations that state governments have received more than N9,629,440,575,160.42 from the Federation Account and proceeds of the Value Added Tax, VAT in the last four years.

Yet some of these states claim they lack funds to pay their workers thereby leaving them with outstanding salaries for several months.

That figure according to Vanguard, represented 26.72 per cent of their share .

It was gathered from the analysis that state governors were given a separate 20.60 per cent of the revenue.

The local governments received an average of about N120 million each through the duration of the four reviewed years.

However, it was learnt that the governors pocketed the money and gave the chairmen of the local governments any amount they wished.

From the review, the stated figure was different from the internally generated revenue of the states.

An analysis of the receipts of these funds done based on geopolitical zones showed that the oil-rich South-South got the highest revenue of N3,435,082,465,812.34, the North-West region got N1,589,955,159,981.08 while the South-West received N1,372,266,936,693.85.

The North-East received N1,159,089,156,240.80, the North-Central and the South-East got the least allocations among the regions. North Central got N1,116, 758, 071, 909.96; while the South East received the least of N 957, 248, 784, 523.49.

However, the funds were further analysed based on the states.

Below is a full allocation received by different states.

Akwa Ibom, N932 billion; Rivers, N792 billion; Delta, N 714 billion; Bayelsa, N587 billion; Lagos, N404.3 billion; Kano, N303.3 billion.

Others were: Kaduna, N286 billion; Ondo, N259.507 billion; Kastina N229.702 billion; Borno, N226.802 billion; Oyo, N218. 223 billion; Enugu, N216.612 billion; Edo, N214.288 billion; Bauchi, N 214.135 billion; Imo, N208. 208 billion; Jigawa, N202. 792 billion; Niger, N201.844 billion; Plateau, N197.623 billion; Abia, N195.963 billion; Cross River, N195. 937 billion; and Anambra, N 195.862 billion.

Sokoto, N194.813 billion; Benue, N194.260 billion; Kogi, N193.865 billion; Kebbi, N192. 902 billion; Adamawa, N188.487 billion; Ogun, N187.787 billion; Yobe, N186. 674 billion; Taraba, N185.573 billion; Zamfara, N180. 473 billion; Kwara, N170. 413 billion; Nasarawa, N157.790 billion; Gombe, N157.415 billion; Osun, N154. 780 billion; and Ekiti, N147.691 billion; Ebonyi, N140.602.

Among states that were prompt with payment of workers’ salaries were: Adamawa, Anambra, Bayelsa, Borno, Delta, Edo, Gombe, Kaduna, Kwara, Lagos, Nasarawa, Niger, Sokoto, Taraba and Ebonyi.

Osun State workers are among the worst hit as they were owed oer seven months salaries by Governor Rauf Aregbesola.


Leave a Comment

To leave a comment anonymously, simple write your thoughts in the comments box below and click the ‘post comment’ button.