13.6 C
New York
Wednesday, April 17, 2024

Makinde Injects New Blood into Oyo Leadership with 9 Commissioner Nominees

Must read

IBADAN, Nigeria — Governor Seyi Makinde of Oyo State has forwarded a list of nine commissioner nominees to the State House of Assembly for approval, as part of his ongoing cabinet reshuffle.

The names were announced by Deputy Speaker of the state House of Assembly, Muhammed Fadeyi, during the plenary session on Friday, July 21, 2023.

The proposed list features a mixture of academics, civil servants, and seasoned politicians.

The nominees are Abiodun Aikomo, Segun Olayiwola, Dr Wasiu Olatunbosun, Prof. Abdulwaheed Soliu, Mr Mojeed Mogbojunbola, Olasunkanmi Olaleye, Mr Williams Akin-Funmilayo, Prince Dotun Oyelade, and Mr Obafemi Ademola Ojo.

“The nominees are expected to appear before the lawmakers for screening on Tuesday, 25th July 2023,” Fadeyi announced to the house. He further instructed the nominees to submit 50 copies of their credentials and evidence of clearance from the Code of Conduct office to the Clerk of the State Assembly.

This move by Governor Makinde aims to boost the efficiency and effectiveness of his administration as they tackle the economic and social issues faced by the people of Oyo State.

The residents and political observers eagerly await the fresh injection of talent and ideas into his administration.

The Oyo State House of Assembly is expected to carefully scrutinize the nominees’ credentials and integrity in the coming days, ensuring their suitability for the roles they are nominated for.

The state and its people eagerly await the outcome of the upcoming screening process.

Royal Squabble: Otun Olubadan Sues Governor Makinde Over Newly Elevated Obas

The Otun Olubadan of Ibadan, Chief Rashidi Ladoja, has taken legal action against Oyo State Governor Seyi Makinde, the Olubadan of Ibadanland, Oba Lekan Balogun, and ten newly elevated beaded crown-wearing Obas over the recent chieftaincy title changes.

The case was filed in the Oyo State High Court last Thursday, July 6, 2023.

Governor Makinde had on Thursday, June 22, 2023, given his approval for the elevation of these chiefs to Obas.

This decision came after the recommendation of the Olubadan of Ibadanland, Oba Lekan Balogun, who holds the prescribed and consenting authority.

Just last Friday, Governor Makinde presented the Staff of Office to the newly anointed Obas.

The ten new Obas are Owolabi Olakulehin; Tajudeen Ajibola; Eddy Oyewole; Lateef Adebimpe; Biodun Kola-Daisi; Kola Adegbola; Hamidu Ajibade; Olubunmi Isioye; Bayo Akande, and Abiodun Azeez.

Ladoja, who had earlier rejected the elevation, was noticeably absent from the ceremony.

His decision to pursue legal action suggests a significant disagreement over the recent changes to the traditional hierarchy of Ibadanland.

The legal action filed by Ladoja challenges the legitimacy of the new Obas and their authority within the traditional leadership structure.

It’s a move that is likely to stoke political tension and initiate a robust debate over the appropriateness and legality of such elevations.

The case is yet to be assigned a hearing date, but it has already drawn attention to the complexities of chieftaincy politics in Nigeria’s traditional structures.

The outcome of this lawsuit could set a significant precedent for future disputes of this nature.

More articles

- Advertisement -The Fast Track to Earning Income as a Publisher
- Advertisement -The Fast Track to Earning Income as a Publisher
- Advertisement -Top 20 Blogs Lifestyle

Latest article