Rivers Governor Amaechi Elects 21 Local Gov’t Caretaker Chairmen

Rivers Governor Amaechi Elects 21 Local Gov’t Caretaker Chairmen

By Vanguard on June 1, 2014
Port Harcourt EFCC Rotimi Amaechi Rivers State APC Nigeria Corruption White Paper
Nigeria's Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi

Rivers State Governor, Rt. Hon. Chibuike Amaechi last night swore in 21 local government caretaker chairmen to pilot the affairs of their councils.

Rivers State has 23 local government areas but Degema and Ogba /Egbema/Ndoni Council Chairmen still have their tenures running, so were not affected.

The 21 caretaker chairmen were sworn in after screening by the Rivers State House of Assembly as the tenure of the former council chairmen came to an end yesterday.

At the brief swearing-in ceremony at the Executive Council Chambers of Government House, Port Harcourt, the Caretaker Chairmen took their oath of office and allegiance, and five were former council chairmen. They are those of Abua/Odual, Ogu/Bolo, Gokana, Asari-Toru and Eleme Local Government Areas.

Amaechi in his remarks congratulated the caretaker chairmen on their appointment, and urged them to make judicious use of council funds to benefit people in their areas.

Read More


Leave a Comment

To leave a comment anonymously, simple write your thoughts in the comments box below and click the ‘post comment’ button.